4 research departments
750 employees
45 nationalities
55 research teams
16 ERC laureates
260 publications per year
24000 m² lab area

Support us through

Fondation universite de Strasbourg

Communication Service

Tél. +33(0) 3 88 65 35 47

Quick Links

Science & society

Key figures 2017

12 prizes and distinctions
3 public events
26 major scientific news

Scientific news

Bertrand Séraphin and Yann Hérault succeed Brigitte Kieffer at the head of the IGBMC

Bertrand Séraphin and Yann Hérault

Jan. 1, 2014

Following the announced departure of Brigitte Kieffer, the CNRS, the Inserm and the University of Strasbourg have announced their decision concerning the new direction. Bertrand Séraphin and Yann Hérault have been appointed respectively Director and Deputy Director and will take the helm of the Institute from the beginning of 2014.

Research director at the CNRS, Bertrand Séraphin is a specialist in the decay of messenger RNA and the characterization of protein complexes. After spending several years at the EMBL and the CGM (Gif-sur-Yvette, France), he joined the IGBMC with his team in 2009. He has received several national and international awards, including the Silver Medal of the CNRS in 2007.

Meanwhile, Yann Hérault currently leads the Mouse Clinical Institute (MCI) and coordinates the Phenomin national project. Research Director at the CNRS, he recently received the Sisley -Jérôme Lejeune prize for his work on Down syndrome (trisomy 21).

Both researchers have now the task of continuing the policy of Excellence of the Institute, in close collaboration with other members of the executive committee.

Imprimer Envoyer

Université de Strasbourg

IGBMC - CNRS UMR 7104 - Inserm U 1258
1 rue Laurent Fries / BP 10142 / 67404 Illkirch CEDEX / France Tél +33 (0)3 88 65 32 00 / Fax +33 (0)3 88 65 32 01 / directeur.igbmc@igbmc.fr