Contact

Missions

The IGBMC's mission is to develop knowledge about living organisms through an environment that encourages cutting-edge research. The institute also has two other missions: to promote research through concrete projects and to train future researchers by enabling them to develop concrete skills for their future careers.

Generating knowledge on biological sciences

The primary mission of the IGBMC is to produce knowledge about the living world. To do this, the Institute provides an environment that encourages research, interaction between scientists and the provision of highly technical platforms and services.

Historically specialized in structural biology and the study of eukaryotes, the Institute now focuses on six main areas :

  • integrative structural biology ;
  • developmental biology
  • functional genomics
  • cancer ;
  • translational medicine;
  • neurogenetics.

Supported by state-of-the-art technological platforms and scientific services, the IGBMC produces nearly 250 scientific articles per year.

Promoting research through large-scale projects

Located in the Illkirch-Graffenstaden Innovation Park, the IGBMC is at the heart of the Alsace Biovalley competitiveness cluster. Interacting with other academic and industrial players, the Institute is involved in several large-scale projects to promote its research and equipment.

The institute is historically based on very strong industrial partnerships. It is itself the result of a strategic partnership between the CNRS, INSERM, Louis Pasteur University and Bristol-Myers-Squibb (BMS), which financed the construction of the building in 1994 and supported the research conducted at the Institute for several years. The Mouse Clinical Institute (MCI) has also established important partnerships with pharmaceutical companies. In addition to these large-scale contracts, many research teams have already obtained contracts with pharmaceutical companies such as Wyeth, Sanofi-Aventis, CellVir, etc.

Training tomorrow's scientists

As an international biomedical research center, one of the main missions of the IGBMC is to train students in the most up-to-date biology. Thanks to an excellent training environment, the institute currently welcomes nearly 250 students and post-doctoral fellows from some 40 different countries.

The institute has strong links with the Ecole doctorale des sciences de la vie et de la santé (ED 414) of the University of Strasbourg and is the only one authorized to deliver PhD degrees in biology. Since 2018, the IGBMC has also participated in the IMCBio University Research School (EUR), whose objective is to offer high-level cross-disciplinary training in biology research from the master's to the doctoral level.

Finally, it also regularly hosts workshops and training sessions allowing young researchers to exchange with experts on a specific topic.

Contact

Missions

L'IGBMC a pour mission de développer les connaissances sur le vivant grâce à un environnement favorisant la recherche de pointe. L'institut porte également deux autres missions, celle de valoriser la recherche au travers de projets concrets ainsi que celle de former les futurs chercheurs et chercheuses en leur permettant de développer des compétences concrètes pour leur futur professionnel.

Produire des connaissances sur le vivant

La première mission de l'IGBMC est de produire des connaissances sur le vivant. L’Institut s’appuie pour cela sur un environnement favorisant la recherche, l'interaction entre les scientifiques et la mise à disposition de plateformes et de services de haute technicité.

Historiquement spécialisé dans la biologie structurale et l'étude des eucaryotes, l'Institut se concentre aujourd'hui sur six volets principaux :

  • la biologie structurale intégrative ;
  • la biologie du développement ;
  • la génomique fonctionnelle ;
  • le cancer ;
  • la médecine translationnelle ;
  • la neurogénétique.

Soutenu par des plateformes technologiques et services scientifiques de pointe, l'IGBMC produit près de 250 articles scientifiques par an.

Valoriser la recherche au travers de projets d'envergure

Situé au Parc d'innovation d'Illkirch-Graffenstaden, l'IGBMC se trouve au cœur du pôle de compétitivité Alsace Biovalley. En interaction avec les autres acteurs des milieux académique et industriel, l'institut est impliqué dans plusieurs projets d'envergure pour valoriser sa recherche et ses équipements.

L'institut repose historiquement sur des partenariats industriels très forts. Il résulte lui-même d’un partenariat stratégique en le CNRS, l’INSERM, l’université Louis Pasteur et Bristol-Myers-Squibb (BMS) qui a notamment financé la construction du bâtiment en 1994 et a soutenu la recherche menée à l'institut à hauteur pendant plusieurs années. L'Institut clinique de la souris (ICS) a également mis en place d’importants partenariats avec des société pharmaceutiques. En plus de ces contrats de grande envergure, de nombreuses équipes de recherche ont déjà obtenu des contrats avec des industries pharmaceutiques comme Wyeth, Sanofi-Aventis, CellVir, etc.

Former les scientifiques de demain

En tant que centre de recherche biomédicale d'envergure internationale, une des principales missions de l'IGBMC est de former les étudiants à la biologie la plus actuelle. Grâce à un environnement de formation d'excellence, l'institut accueille aujourd'hui près de 250 étudiants et post-doctorants venus d'une quarantaine de pays différents.

L'institut a des liens importants avec l'Ecole doctorale des sciences de la vie et de la santé (ED 414) de l'université de Strasbourg et seule habilitée à délivrer les diplômes de doctorat en biologie . L'IGBMC participe également depuis 2018 à l'Ecole Universitaire de Recherche (EUR) IMCBio dont l'objectif est de proposer une formation transversale de haut niveau à la recherche en biologie du master au doctorat.

Enfin, il accueille également régulièrement des ateliers et sessions de formation permettant aux jeunes chercheurs d'échanger avec les experts sur une thématique précise.